Belfast Zoo
Show Menu
Show Search

Our 34th Annual Photographic Competition winners announced

Date: 09 Oct 2017

Winning photograph of our annual photo competition 2017

The winners of our annual photographic competition have now been selected.

The competition, which has been running for 34 years, is sponsored by HB and challenges budding and amateur photographers to creatively photograph the animals and scenes of the zoo; capturing the wonder of nature while exhibiting photographic excellence, high quality skills and a great eye for a ‘zooper’ photo.

Zoo manager and competition judge, Alyn Cairns, said “Despite the fact that the competition has been running for more than 30 years, we are always stunned by the standard of the submissions, as well as the quality and skill demonstrated by entrants. Having moved the competition into an online and digital platform this year, we have received almost double the amount of submissions with more than 650 entries! The photographs certainly highlighted the beauty and diversity of the species that we care for. This year we even introduced a new category to challenge visitors to get some snaps of our most endangered primates. We were astounded by the number of species represented in the competition from the tiny pygmy marmoset to Tina the elephant! I would like to take this opportunity to thank our sponsor, HB, for their continued support of the competition. I would also like to praise the efforts of everyone who entered the competition this year, as well as our winners.”

The winners were as follows:

Category A - best picture taken by a club photographer

  • 1st prize and overall winner – Joe Beattie (Carrickfergus Camera Club)
  • 2nd prize – William Allen (Central Photographic Association)
  • 3rd prize – Tommy Millar (Ballymoney Camera Club)
  • highly commended – William Allen (Central Photographic Association)
  • highly commended – Joe Beattie (Carrickfergus Camera Club)

Category B - best picture taken by a zoo visitor

  • 1st prize – Mervyn Marshall
  • 2nd prize – Mervyn Marshall
  • 3rd prize – Chris Gunning
  • highly commended – Lesley Barker
  • highly commended – Marina Kulakova
  • highly commended – Chris McSherry

Category C - best black and white picture

  • 1st prize – William Allen
  • 2nd prize- Fiona Beattie
  • 3rd prize – Joe Beattie
  • highly commended – Bruce Marshall
  • highly commended – William Allen
  • highly commended – Chloe Thompson

Category D - best funny caption

  • 1st prize – Gemma Vennard
  • highly commended – Siobhan Carrabin
  • highly commended – Fiona Beattie

Category E - best picture taken by someone under 16

  • 1st prize – Alexander Allen
  • highly commended – Joshua Willey
  • highly commended – Alexander Allen

Category F- best picture of our primate heroes

  • 1st prize – William Allen
  • 2nd – Ralph McCullough
  • 3rd – Andrea Martin
  • Highly commended – Marina Kulakova
  • Highly commended – William Allen